Armstrong Golf Group 2019

Coach Armstrong Memorial Golf Tournament Benefits Local Scholarships 2019

Sponsor a hole or donate a raffle item


The 14th Annual Coach Armstrong Memorial Golf Tournament was a big success. 105 golfers teed off under overcast skies at the recent annual event at Snohomish Golf Course to benefit the Snohomish Education Foundation scholarships. The 2019 annual tournament brought in over $18,000 to benefit students in the Snohomish School District.

Coach Dick Armstrong, who passed away in 1999, compiled a legendary 32-year career as head football coach from 1963 to 1994 at Snohomish High School. He retired as the winningest high school football coach in state history. He was also a biology and physical education teacher.

The Snohomish Education Foundation administers the renewable Coach Armstrong Memorial Scholarship of $1,000 for two annual recipients from Glacier Peak or Snohomish High School. With as many as eight renewable scholarships in any given year, the Coach Armstrong Memorial Scholarship funds as much as $8,000 annually.

The foursome of Sharon Burlison, Brad Burlison, Jordan Schauf, and Tim Wilson took first place in the four-person scramble event with a 19 under-par 53. Longest drive winners were Stacey Songstad and Brad Burlison. Closest-to-the-Pin victors were Mike Morehouse and Sandy Songstad. This year’s speakers were Mark Perry, Snohomish High School Athletic Director, Ray Johnson, former Snohomish High School Principal, and Kian Abadalkhani, 2019 Coach Armstrong scholarship recipient.

The Snohomish Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to supporting student success through scholarships, classroom grants, District grants, and the Hansen Shoe Fund. As a community-based organization, the Foundation relies on private donors and volunteers to carry out their mission of fostering learning by expanding opportunities for Snohomish School District students. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *